Year End (Editing) Update

It may seem a little soon for an end of the year update, however after a long year of non-stop editing I’m taking a break for a while to relax. I had a very fun year attending anime conventions and participating in contests as well. As I have mentioned before, this year I focused on creating re-envisioned versions of older videos that weren’t exact remakes yet were the same core concept. Both Tough Love and Evangelion 0.33 – Shinji did (Not) Have Sex were well received and I am glad I worked on these projects to really show myself how I have developed as an editor since creating their previous counterparts. I did make some other projects as well, but around mid-year I started to doubt my ability to create new concepts since the re-envisioned videos ended up being the only successful ones based on contest results and ratings. After the last video I worked on, The Solution, premiered in the Anime Weekend Atlanta Professional contest and received a very mediocre reception I had very few expectations in terms of how it would perform in other contest. Surprisingly it did well and I am glad it didn’t end up becoming a huge flop like Anten Piece did in 2012.

Since getting back into editing in 2010 I’ve slowly increased the amount of output of videos each year. Between tutorials and editing, this year I was pretty much doing something AMV related all the time with little time for other hobbies. While I plan to continue working on tutorials and helping out those with software questions, editing is definitely taking a back seat for a short time while I kick back and enjoy a few videos games I’ve missed out on over the past few years.

Leave a Reply

